Most enterprise software pricing is designed to charge you per user regardless of how many people on your team are actively using it. At Storipress, we believe you should only be billed for what you use.
The short version:
- Our Fair Billing Policy applies to Storipress plans purchased via the Storipress website and paid for by credit card or self-serve invoicing.
- When you purchase a paid plan for your publication, you’ll be billed for active members.
- Any changes to the number of active members in your publication will be reflected in your billing statement. If someone you’ve already paid for becomes inactive, we’ll add a prorated credit to your account for the unused time.
- If all members become inactive, you'll be billed for a minimum of one member, unless you decide to downgrade to the free version of Storipress.
How you're billed for members
On paid plans, you’re billed for the members of your publication that are actively using Storipress. Certain types of members are paid, while others are free.
Adding new members during your billing period
If you’re on a paid plan and add new members partway through the billing period, we’ll only charge for the time used. We’ll keep track of this for you, and bill you accordingly.
- If you pay monthly by credit card, we'll calculate the prorated cost and bill you the following month for any new members added.
- If you pay annually by credit card, we'll calculate the prorated cost for the rest of the year, and bill you at the end of the month for any new members added.
- If you pay annually by invoice and your publication grows beyond the members you’ve already paid for, we’ll send you an invoice once per calendar quarter to settle any outstanding balances.
How inactive and deactivated members affect billing
Paid members are only billable if they’re actively using Storipress. Storipress will automatically detect if members become inactive, and if that happens, we'll add prorated credits** to your Storipress account. Those credits will be applied toward future payments, such as new members being added to your publication or your next renewal date.
Inactive vs. active member accounts
In the table below, we've outlined how members are determined to be active or inactive in Storipress, and the resulting billing action.
A member hasn't used Storipress in over 14 days
Credits will be deposited to your Storipress account for the unused portion of the billing period
An inactive member starts using Storipress again
We'll automatically detect the change and charge the prorated cost for the days remaining in the billing period
A member is deactivated by a Publication Owner or Admin
Credits will be deposited to your Storipress account the next day for the unused portion of the billing period
A deactivated member is reactivated by a Publication Owner or Admin
We’ll automatically detect the change and charge the prorated cost for the days remaining in the billing period
When you'll see credit card charges
You'll see the first credit card charge from Storipress on the day you purchase a paid plan. Here are some other times you'll see charges:
- On your monthly renewal date if you pay monthly.
- On your annual renewal date if you pay annually.
- On the last day of the month if you pay annually and there’s an outstanding balance for adding new members.